Home > Games, QuakeLive > QuakeLive noobHUD (alpha)

QuakeLive noobHUD (alpha)

Folks, an update – I stopped working on this due to the brilliant work done by namad to make an easy graphical HUD editor. Check it out here:

http://visualhud.pk69.com/

If anyone still wants me to work on and complete this, just ask. I just figured there was no need any more.

Hey there, first post here..

A while back I decided I wanted to re-make my QuakeLive HUD, cleaning up both the visuals and the code now I know a little more about what I’m doing. I got to work and pretty quickly came up with an exact replica.

The replica of my older HUD

EmSixTeen HUD - noobHUD

As I was finishing this newer version I had an idea though. I get asked the same little questions over and over again about HUD editing, and I wanted to make a HUD which is a tonne easier for newbs to understand. I realised I could do this by using custom cvars and then using cvarTest, and making these custom cvars relate to presets I have made in the HUD file. Basically, you can just type ui_emsixteen_scores “topright” and it will place the scores in the top right. The player can then also have a little config file they exec with their own settings for the HUD, which is a heap easier than messing with the HUD’s actual .menu files.

I grew supremely tired of HUD editing and gave this up completely, but I’ve just decided to get my arse into gear and get this done now. Here’s what I’ve managed to get done so far:

  • Full HUD Presets
    emsixteenold – Exact same as my old HUD
    emsixteen – What I use now
    stermy – Same layout as stermy’s HUD, without health/armour bars
  • Timer Positions
    classic – Top middle small
    topmid – Top middle large
    bottommid – Bottom middle large
    bottommidsm – Bottom middle small
    ncts – Same place as noctis’ HUD
    stermy – Same place as stermy’s HUD
  • Timer Backgrounds
    None
    ..bg1 – Gray with lighter border.
    ..bg2 – Coloured (blue) with light border.
    ..bg3 – Coloured (blue) with no border.
  • Mini-Timer
    off – Disabled
    above – Above cg_drawitempickups message
    below – Below cg_drawitempickups message
  • Scores
    topleft/classic – Top left
    topright – Top right
    topmid – Top middle
    bottomleft – Bottom left
    bottomright – Bottom right
  • Health/Armour icons
    off – Disabled
    classic/insideql – QL icons between health/armour
    aboveql – QL icons above health/armour
    aboveq3 – Q3 icons between health/armour
    insideq3 – Q3 icons between health/armour
    above3d – Player head and 3d armour above health/armour
    inside3d – Player head and 3d armour between health/armour
    abovecombo – 3d player head/2d armour above health/armour
    insidecombo – 3d player head/2d armour between health/armour
  • Ammo Position
    classic/lowermid – below crosshair, above health/armour
    lowmid – Below crosshair, above health/armour, above weaponbar3
    lowestmid – Between classic health/armour icons. Use with above health/armour icon presets or with bottommidsm timer
    bottomleft – Bottom left

So who wants to try it out? Please do! Even if you don’t want the new functionality, it also includes the newest and updated version/layout of my own HUD, so it’s worthwhile if you use my older HUD.

Download it from HERE. Then just open emsixteenhud.cfg and have a look at it to understand, then go in-game and type /exec emsixteenhud.cfg in console and play from there.

Okay, it’s not very complex HUDwise, but I’m really hoping it takes off a bit for those who want to make simple changes. I can add more functionality if it does, and if people suggest presets I can do that – I just need to be asked! Seriously. Get in touch any of the following ways:

Categories: Games, QuakeLive Tags: ,
  1. June 19, 2010 at 12:14 am

    Hey EmSixTeen
    Haven’t had time to check it out but i’ll do soon.
    Maybe an idea for your HUD:
    my clanmate has left and right of the crosshair the health and armor gauge shown with healthbars.
    Now I don’t know if that can easily be impelented but i think there would be ppl appreciating this.

    Grz
    HW

    • June 19, 2010 at 12:35 am

      Can you show me what you mean? I’m thinking that’s probably a little too complex for this, if it’s what way I’m thinking. Maybe not impossible though.

      • June 20, 2010 at 1:21 pm

        i’ll ask him for a demo =)

  2. June 21, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    HolzzWurm :
    i’ll ask him for a demo =)

    he’ll do it and upload, i’ll post you the link here

  3. June 22, 2010 at 8:59 pm
  4. Cat
    July 21, 2010 at 3:05 am

    EmSixTeen, I’ve got a little problem.

    Scores don’t show up in team games. Also I don’t have that blue background on the timer in team games.

    Here’s what it looks like in duel/FFA:

    Also to note, scores are still invisible when switching their positions.

  5. David J. Antoine
    August 22, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Any hope of fixing the noob hud to work for team games?

    • August 22, 2010 at 7:36 pm

      I’m currently on the train on my way home from down south, and don’t get home until late, but I might have some time when I do get home. It does need done.

  6. February 25, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    Folks, an update – I stopped working on this due to the brilliant work done by namad to make a visual HUD editor. Check it out:

    http://visualhud.pk69.com/

    If anyone still wants me to work on and complete this, just ask.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

